Welcome Guest ( Login | Register )


All times are UTC - 5 hours



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 6:06 pm   Post subject: WinSock fix
User avatar

Joined: Oct 20, 2005
Posts: 105
Location: BC, Canada
now. i'm not entirely sure that winsock is the issue, if it isn't please tell me what you think the problem is.

I have come into the possesion of an old win 98 computer, thats having some problems with the Internet, like if i go on Google, i can't see any pictures, if i try to play games, i can't see the flash, if i try to login on a site i click the login button after putting in my username and pass, but nothing happens.

can someone please help a newb out?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 12:43 am
User avatar

Joined: Oct 20, 2005
Posts: 105
Location: BC, Canada
common! not one of you can help me out?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 10:47 am
User avatar

Joined: Jan 01, 2003
Posts: 1328
Location: Hell
It sounds like a browser issue. Try using something other than IE to view web pages.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile WWW  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 8:00 pm
User avatar

Joined: Oct 20, 2005
Posts: 105
Location: BC, Canada
oh yeay, i used FireFox and it worked fine. but i need IE to login on a site. so i was wondering if there was a fix.

_________________
A dagger in the dark, is worth one thousand swords at dawn.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 11:50 pm
User avatar

Joined: Jan 01, 2003
Posts: 1328
Location: Hell
Reinstall the operating system, or question why you would need IE to log into a specific site.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile WWW  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 2:20 am
User avatar

Joined: Oct 20, 2005
Posts: 105
Location: BC, Canada
so i can get a game (Gun Bound, WARNING: not fun, very gay). which is downloaded and installed directly from the site. (so people can't easily zip it up and give it to their friends). For some reason it's not compatable with FireFox. i get a flamboient little message when i try to start the download, saying, "The game you have chosen can only be played on Windows with Internet Explorer".

but.. it's not like it's urgent, just annoying.

Disclaimer: Your experience with Gun Bound may vary, depending on if you like Japanese Animation or dispise it. YE BE WARNED


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 2:47 am
AVM Founder
User avatar
 

Joined: Nov 09, 2002
Posts: 3759
Location: Milford, MA
Try using the IE view FireFox extension and see if it works.

_________________
"Always code as if the person who ends up maintaining your code will be a violent psychopath who knows where you live."


Top
 Profile WWW  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2006 2:48 pm
User avatar

Joined: Oct 20, 2005
Posts: 105
Location: BC, Canada
I did it and it worked. thanks Drumstix :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2006 9:34 pm
AVM Founder
User avatar
 

Joined: Nov 09, 2002
Posts: 3759
Location: Milford, MA
Nice.

_________________
"Always code as if the person who ends up maintaining your code will be a violent psychopath who knows where you live."


Top
 Profile WWW  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum


Search for:
Jump to:  
cron