Welcome Guest ( Login | Register )


All times are UTC - 5 hours



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 11:21 pm   Post subject: Whoah!
User avatar

Joined: Feb 04, 2003
Posts: 3791
Location: Underground
I got bored today so I decided to look at the Tribes2 stuff I downloaded off my geocities site. I saw Renaissance_History.txt and I think "Hey, I remember this". So I open it and I'm like "Whoah! This is stuff from three years ago!"
In the short time I worked on Renaissance, I had a change log where I put the date of the change, the changed files, and what the change actually was, and they were all from 2003! It felt like I was looking at a time capsal!
I have a few other Tribes2 things from the site if anyones interested. Some recordings (a few of which require client side objects which have been lost to time) and both Renaissance and MechMod (which makes me happy, because I never actually copied them from the computer that I originally made them on)

_________________
Making advances in Tribes2 physics for fun and profit!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 7:19 am
User avatar

Joined: Jun 15, 2006
Posts: 34
oh oh! I want them (/me stores lots of t2 archived code & objects)

Got a link to donwload the stuff? :o


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 1:38 pm
User avatar

Joined: Feb 04, 2003
Posts: 3791
Location: Underground
Not right now, but I could upload them sometime over the weekend
They're on my laptop, which had it's wireless broken so I'd have to get to them to my PC first

Oh yeah, I forgot. When I was going over my mods, I also looked over Dynablade's function library, and let's just say I was "amazed"

_________________
Making advances in Tribes2 physics for fun and profit!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 3:38 pm
User avatar

Joined: Jan 01, 2003
Posts: 1328
Location: Hell
By amazed you mean repulsed. Right?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile WWW  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 4:31 pm
AVM Founder
User avatar
 

Joined: Nov 09, 2002
Posts: 3759
Location: Milford, MA
:lol:

_________________
"Always code as if the person who ends up maintaining your code will be a violent psychopath who knows where you live."


Top
 Profile WWW  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 4:43 pm
User avatar

Joined: Feb 04, 2003
Posts: 3791
Location: Underground
Thyth wrote:
By amazed you mean repulsed. Right?

Yes. Besides the shear number of member functions added to SimObject that just called a copy of itself, there was this little gem. This is just a sort of recreation (I'm also going to just use x y and z to keep it short:
function vectorCop(%vec1, %vec2)
{
     if(%x1 == %x2)
     {
          if(%y1 == %y2)
          {
               if(%z1 == %z2)
                       return true
               return false
          }
          return false
     }
     return false
}

I looked at that in bewilderment (along with the VectorNeg() function. It just made me wonder what was wrong with VectorScale())
I could let the poor function live in such a deformed state, so I made it look better
function VectorComp(%vec1, %vec2)
{
     if(%x1 == %x2)
          if(%y1 == %y2)
                if(%z1 == %z2)
                        return true
     return false;
}

And I see no reason why you couldn't just use $= instead of writing a new function for that...
I didn't look over the whole file because I was in class...but it was amazing/repulsing

_________________
Making advances in Tribes2 physics for fun and profit!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 6:03 pm
User avatar

Joined: Nov 01, 2004
Posts: 299
Location: IN MY PANTS!
Why didn't you just make it:

function VectorCop(%vec1, %vec2)
{
     if(%x1 == %x2 && %y1 == %y2 && %z1 == %z2)
        return true
     return false;
}


Oh, and in the unclean one, it says VectorCop, but your cleaned up one says VectorComp. Which one is right?

_________________
Image
I love me!


Last edited by Danderson on Fri Oct 06, 2006 6:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 6:59 pm
User avatar

Joined: Feb 04, 2003
Posts: 3791
Location: Underground
Could've done that too, but still, %vec1 $= %vec2 should work, and it's far simpler than any of those. You should only have a vector compare function if it also checks with some sort of error (like if the vectors are only 0.01m away, then it will return true, or you can pass it a value)
As for the function name typo, it doesn't matter. The point is that such a function library that was worshipped in its time really wasn't all that great.

_________________
Making advances in Tribes2 physics for fun and profit!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 2:41 pm
User avatar

Joined: Jan 01, 2003
Posts: 1328
Location: Hell
As I've said continually before it is a bloated library with the only interesting trick being the "slot extenders".

I am wondering if I should release source code to any of the more advanced components I've developed for this game, especially since I'm not very interested in developing my construction mod much further.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile WWW  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum


Search for:
Jump to:  
cron